We’re here!

We left the US on July 28 and arrived in Brisbane, Queensland, Australia on the 30th.  We’re not sure where the 29th went but it was probably spent at 30,000 ft somewhere in the Pacific.  We arrived and the first exciting thing that happened was that we were standing at baggage claim when Dan said, “Psst, that’s Morgan Spurlock!”  I said, “ha no way, Morgan Spurlock doesn’t look like that.”  Then the more I looked, the more it looked like him, then I finally saw his profile and realized it really was him.  I tried to think of a cool way to say we recognized him when Dan blurted out “HEY PRISCILLA! KNOW THAT 30 DAYS SHOW?  IT’S REALLY GOOD!”  Morgan turned around and said “heh, yeah I like it too.”  We introduced ourselves and shook his hand.  I took his pic on the sly.

He was really nice and helped me get my gigantic bag off the carousel.

After that we went through customs and promised we didn’t have any food on us and they let us through.  We met Greg, the professor I’m going to be working with and loaded all our stuff into his tiny rental car (whose steering wheel is totally on the wrong side).

He gave us a quick tour of the city then we went to our hotel to drop our baggage.  Then he wanted to show us around his apartment (which has an amazing view from the 26th floor).  It’s almost right in the middle of the city and it’s directly on the river.

The Brisbane River is a river that goes right throught the middle of Brisbane and is how most people in the city get to work.  I catch the CityCat at a stop that’s about 15 minutes from my apartment and have a 35 minutes ride to work.  It’s not a bad way to start the day.

There’s some crazy wildlife here.  There are giant white ibises all over campus, as well as bush turkeys, which make huge mulch “nests” and absolutely destroy any landscaping that the University has attempted.  There are lots of eucalyptus trees but they’re seriously lacking in an koalas.  Haven’t seen any kangaroos yet.  Those don’t enjoy the city very much.  We hope to go to the Queensland Zoo tomorrow which has only Australian wildlife.  Will take lots of pictures.

-P

2 responses to “We’re here!

  1. Should have said – “I WISH THERE WAS A McDONALD’S AROUND HERE. I LOVE THAT PLACE. I COULD EAT THERE EVERY DAY FOR, LIKE, A MONTH”

  2. Priscilla,

    I love the birthday story. You had me hanging about whether or not Dan would actually spend $500 on mouse shoes.

    Great job on the blog. I love the links and the pictures. I finally sent the address out yesterday to family.

Leave a Reply

